The Planning Department is responsible for planning the orderly growth and development of the City and its one-mile extraterritorial jurisdiction, including the administration of the City’s transportation planning process.  The department issues addresses and is responsible for administering and updating the City’s Unified Development Ordinance (Zoning Code) and provides staff assistance to a number of various boards and commissions (see below).

Boards and commissions schedules

and contact information can

be found by clicking on the

items on the left

The Planning Commission will hold their meeting in the Council Chambers located in Historic City Hall, 214 N. Center Street.

The meeting will be streamed live on the City’s Facebook page and YouTube.

Meets 3rd and last Mondays at 6:00 pm

  • Rezoning Requests
  • Conditional Use Permits
  • Subdivisions
  • Site and Landscape Plans
  • Street & Alley Closings

The Planning Commission will hold their meeting in Monday, December 21, 2020 at  7 P.M. in the City Council Chambers, 214 N. Center Street in the Historic City Hall building.

Planning Commission Agenda 03-29-2021  

Planning Commission Agenda 02-22-2021  

Planning Commission Agenda 01-25-2021  

Planning Commission Agenda 12-21-2020  

Planning Commission Agenda 11-30-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 10-26-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 9-28-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 8-31-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 7-27-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 5-26-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 4-27-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 3-30-2020

Planning Commission Agenda  2-24-2020

Planning Commission Agenda 1-27-20

Planning Commission Agenda 11-25-19

Planning Commission Agenda 10-28-19

Planning CommissionAgenda 9-30-19

Planning Commission 8-26-19 Agenda

Debra Creighton – 919-580-4333

Meets Last Monday at 6:00 pm

  • Variances from Regulations
  • Special Use Permits
  • Home Occupation Permits

Debra Creighton – 919-580-4333

Meets First Tuesday at 5:30 pm

  • Certificates of Appropriateness

Jennifer Collins – 919-580-4327

Meets quarterly, call for details

  • Issues Related to Transportation

Jennifer Collins – 919-580-4327

Meet our Staff

Planning/Code Enforcement Administrative Assistant

Rachael Smith – 919-580-4313

Planning Director

Kenny Talton – 919-580-4335

GIS Specialist

Jeff Cooke – 919-580-4383


Peyton Blanchard – 919-580-4387

Code Enforcement Administrator

Matt Summerlin – 919-580-4319

Code Enforcement Officer

Gaston Lopez – 919-580-4312

Code Enforcement Officer

Stephanie Booker – 919-580-4382

Contact Planning Department

Goldsboro MPO
Zoning Code
GIS Maps Online
Tax Office
Calendar for Zone Changes
Landscape Ordinance
Table of Permitted Uses
Sign Ordinance
List of Regular Meetings
Comprehensive Plan

Process Charts

Change of Zones
Conditional Use Permits
Site Plans
Certificates of Appropriateness-Historic District
Board of Adjustment–Variance Requests
Street Closings